Five Minute Friday: Messenger

Lisa Jo Baker runs a blog with a focus on encouraging moms. All moms. Stay-at-home moms, working moms. Single moms. Married moms. Moms who can’t keep their houses clean and feel weighed down by their imperfections. Moms who are frustrated and weary and wonder if they are doing “it” right. She lifts us up, holds our hands, and tells us we are doing great.

Each week Lisa Jo hosts a linkup called Five Minute Friday. The goal is to write for (just) five minutes on a one-word prompt she provides. Unedited and raw. Learning not to judge our writing too much. Learning not to judge ourselves too much. Letting it just be.

And so I join Lisa Jo’s linkup, because this blog reflects who I am as a mother, if through a lens colored by debt.

Today’s prompt is: MESSENGER

I’ve debated not writing anything at all for today. The prompt is all well and good and I’m sure plenty if other writers are taking it to really great, deep, spiritual places today. I tried to gather my thoughts and remembered phrases like “don’t kill the messenger” (yeah, I tend to be a little on the negative side) and

How will they preach unless they are sent? Just as it is written, “H OW BEAUTIFUL ARE THE FEET OF THOSE WHO BRING GOOD NEWS OF GOOD THINGS!” (Romans 10:15 NASB)

It would be easy to talk about Jesus being a messenger, but I don’t really feel that. Right or wrong, I think of messengers as being impartial bystanders who just pass along some information, and I suppose that’s why this prompt has me befuddled.

I’m not impartial or a bystander as a Christian, as a mom, or as someone figuring out my finances. I’m passionate and I have things to say. I want you to know what I have learned. I’m hoping some people are able to grow from my mistakes, to celebrate my victories with me – no matter how small, and to offer their own wisdoms in return.

I suppose I see myself as a mom who teaches her children (the best she can), as a Christian who practices (because I need to practice and make myself better), as a person studying her finances and hoping to learn. Teaching, practicing, and studying… But not passively listening to a message and certainly not impartially delivering one.

DONE

So, I actually debated not even doing the linkup today. I’ve felt like I didn’t have anything to say and this post wasn’t “good enough” and you know what? It’s not something I would write and post on just any other day, if only because the topic didn’t really bring out a strong opinion or a learning experience. It’s just is, and so no, I wouldn’t normally publish this. But remembering what Five a Minute a Friday is all about – I decided to submit a post anyway. If only so other people can see that someone else struggles to come up with words. If only so someone else can see where the mind wanders, even when you feel like there’s nothing to write about. So there you have it. May next week be better 🙂 Happy Friday!

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Messenger

  1. I’m glad you did decide to share it! I found it interesting how you said you think of a messenger more as an impartial bystander, because it was exactly the opposite of what I think of. And that is the fun thing about this whole process right? Seeing how one simple word can be charged with so much meaning for one person and seem cold or distant to another?

    Great job and thank you for having the courage to be imperfect and honest this morning! 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, thank you for this 🙂 even after posting it, I debated trying to pull it down. And I really wanted my reaction to the word “messenger” to be different, but it would have been forced. And you are so right – it’s neat to see how people take the prompt and run different directions with it (or be like me and go nowhere… Haha).

      Like

  2. For five minutes I think you did quite an amazing job, not even a typo! 🙂 I loved your opinion of a messenger, the impartial bystander, and I think you are so right. I heard that back in the day I when the messenger had to deliver something for the king he would even have to repeat the words in the same voice and gestures as the King himself. I suppose it is how we are to be with the Gospel message, delivering it exactly how Christ our King would.

    Like

    • Yes, I’ve heard the same thing, which relates back to the phrase “don’t shoot the messenger” because you are really upset with the person behind the message. But look at you, in probably 30 seconds or less coming up with a way to tie it all in to our faith 🙂 Maybe I just needed more sleep? 😉

      Like

      • Haha, Kirsten, no, no yours was lovely. I really enjoy when the writer just stops, leaves you kind of hanging and made to come up with a conclusion of your own. You give a little, I give a little, just like it is supposed to be in life! 🙂

        Like

    • Oh thank you, thank you for stopping by and telling me that. And we aren’t alone in our challenge – the lady before me basically posted that she didn’t know what to write 🙂 it was a tough prompt for a few of us!

      Like

Tell me what you think!

