Setting Goals

The mind of man plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps. (Proverbs 16:9 NASB)

I’m in the process of moving my blog over to WordPress.org, where I’ll become simply indebtedmom.com. While that’s happening (and while I care for a sick baby), I decided to throw up a quickie post.

I’ve been mulling over what I want for our financial future. I don’t want to be rich, so let’s start there, but I decided I have some goals other than just getting out of debt and staying home with my girls. And since this blog is all about accountability, I wanted to share these goals and possibly check in on them time to time.

  1. DEBT: pay off three debts a year and be debt free in four years
  2. RETIREMENT: retire by 50. Tall order given that we will only have about 10 years after becoming debt free to save and we haven’t been doing a great job
  3. TOYS: buy Brian a plane before we retire
  4. TRAVEL: after becoming debt free, take family vacations once a year, including some international trips

I also fully intend to set aside some money for our daughters’ college and weddings, but that will be a balancing act. They will be expected to put some money on the table for these things, too.

And so you know that it’s not all about me – I’m toying with ideas on supporting others through this blog. I have a zillion ideas running through my head, so it will take some time to research the possibilities – but expect that it’s coming!

What are your post-debt financial goals?

One thought on “Setting Goals

  1. My post debt goals were to become a stay at home dad, which has occurred. We recently paid off our mortgage and my wife transitioned to a new career. Both of those things allowed for more disposable monthly income in our monthly budget and for me to manage the home and reduce the stress of a two-parent working family. It’s amazing what can be accomplished when debt doesn’t have a stranglehold on your finance. Kudos to you for wanting to knock it down.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!