Proud Mary

Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father. (Colossians 3:17 NASB)

I’ve been pondering over a simple question with a not-so-easy answer: what lengths would I go to in order to be debt free? In order to be able to afford to be a stay-at-home mom? Would I downsize my house? Would I sell belongings? Is God leading me to make some drastic move that I’ve so far resisted? Or maybe the move is so drastic it hasn’t even occurred to me?

These were real musings of mine and I coincidentally stumbled on a guest post over at Happy Herbivore with a very drastic money saving idea. This lady lived on a boat to solve her financial dilemma. No lie. She and her husband did not have any boating experience, but it was the only affordable housing option in their area, so they embraced it.

Guess what? I hopped online to start pricing boats. I started wondering how I would sell my husband on this idea. I was all in.

20140525-062627.jpg

Looks like a great place to live!

Then… I went to check to see if anyone actually lives on a boat year round in our harsh perma-winter climate. Apparently, it’s not doable. Bummer.

20140525-062712.jpg

And this is probably why you can’t live in the water here…

Add “cannot live on a house boat” to our lists of what-makes-this-place-too-expensive-to-live-in and ideas-that-almost-worked-to-reduce-our-debt.

What’s the craziest thing you have ever done (or thought about doing) in order to gain more control of your finances?

Tell me what you think!

